Relevance Changes With Time


What do I mean by Relevance changes with time? Quite simply, we are constantly changing, as is the world around us.  Nothing is standing still.

clcok insides

Have you ever read a book or watched a DVD, finished it then carried on with your life.  You may have got something out of it, an insight or a direction to follow.  But you may have skipped over a lot of the information in the book or DVD – thought it strange or not relevant.  Or were just in a hurry to finish it as “you already knew it”.

end of book

Some months later you pick up the book or watch the DVD again.  Passages that you skipped over, you now linger over.  You pick up deeper meaning.  The passage triggers thoughts and understanding.

This has happened to me a number of times over the past few months.  The first time was at the end of a 3 day Vipassana sit.  I was talking with a group of fellow sitters and the teacher.  I mentioned that this time I found it difficult to go deep and that my mind felt like a cork bobbing on the surface of the ocean (ocean of thoughts!).  Plus I got something completely different out of the sit from what I was expecting!  The teacher pointed out that we had all changed since our last sit.  Life doesn’t stand still and nor do we.  Where we are today is perfect.

Most recently I have been re-reading Paul McKenna’s “Change Your Life in 7 Days”. And you guessed it.  A section I was re-reading really caught my attention and imagination!  Where I thought that I knew it, I now have a better perspective on the information!

So, don’t think that once you have read a book, or watched a DVD on personal change, that you have absorbed it all.  Revisit it again and again.  You will find greater relevance in some of the sections that you skipped over or thought you knew.

Until next time

metta

Garth

About selfhypnosisresource

Hi there. I have an interest in personal change - for the better and have done so for many years. I am working on meditation - that's a work in progress. I have been on a number of Vipassana retreats. I found these of great value. I also have an interest in self-hypnosis and how it can help with self improvement. My blog is on topics associated with personal change, hypnosis, Vipassana and Huna
This entry was posted in Personal Change and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment